Ecton Village

Parish Council

About Us

The Parish Council is the first tier of local government and exists to represent the interests of the whole of the parish of Ecton.

The full Council consists of nine members, all members live within the Parish. We currently have 2 vacancies for Councillors following the election.

Current members of the Parish Council

Councillor David Dicks - Chair and also the Noticeboard contact

Councillor Nigel Bond 

Councillor Joe Fernley

Councillor Paul Godby

Councillor Simon Grisewood (Co-opted May 18th May 2021)

Councillor Gillian Littlewood (Co-opted May 18th May 2021)

Councillor Alistair McCarter

Councillors are elected every four years (the most recent election was held on the 6th May 2021 - A year later than the scheduled May 7th 2020 Elections that were postponed due to Corona Virus Lockdowns. All Councillors live in the community. The position is purely voluntary and attracts no payment.

The Clerk

Mrs Shirley Wong - The Parish Clerk and Responsible Financial Officer is the only Council employee. The Clerk is normally the first point of contact with the Parish Council from the electors point of view.  

Shirley is a fully qualified Clerk and has obtained her Cilca qualification, which is a National Qualification for Parish Clerks. Shirley has thirteen years experience working as a Parish Clerk / Responsible Financial Officer since 2008.


The Parish Council strives to improve the appearance and safety of the Parish of Ecton. The Council has direct responsibility for the bus shelters, shrine, street lighting and the management of the playing field for the benefit of all residents. It is the responsibility of the Parish Council to represent the interests of the whole community. Councillors have a responsibility to keep up to date with local issues.

The Parish Council is consulted on a range of planning and highway proposals that affect the parish.

The Parish Council raises money through a local tax (precept) for projects that benefit its residents. 

If you have any questions that you would like answered, or want to share any views with the Council or even spot any problems that need reporting in the Parish, please contact the Clerk. Mrs Shirley Wong in the first instance.

On this website you can find information about the Ecton Parish Council, it's history, members, and download council documents such as minutes and agendas.


Parish Council meetings are held 6 times per year, Bi-monthly on the fourth Tuesday of odd numbered months (Jan, March, May, etc.).Meetings will start at 7.30pm and are normally held in the Village Hall.  

Remaining Meeting dates for the current Financial year 2021/2022

2021: 27th July, 28th September, and 23rd November.

2022: 25th January, 22nd March and the Annual Meeting of the Parish and The Annual Parish Council meetings on 24th May 2022.

Contact Details for the Parish Council


Mrs Shirley Wong
C/O 33 Friars Avenue

 ☎ 01604 700691


   40 West Street
   NN6 0QF

☎ 01604 407145   


   Mr Nigel Bond
   34 West Street
   NN6 0QF

☎ 01604 948040

   Mr Joe Fernley
   Walnut House
   56a High Street
   NN6 0QB
☎ 07956 271890


   16 West Street
   NN6 0QF

☎ 01604 416184


   Mr Simon Grisewood
   41B High Street
   NN6 0QA

☎ 07535 419020


   Mrs Gillian Littlewood 
   20 Church View
   NN6 0QF

☎ 01604 409422


   Mr Alistair McCarter
   35 High Street
   NN6 0QA

   ☎ 07917 796844


North Northamptonshire Council Councillors

As of May 2021 the following North Northamptonshire County Councillors were our elected Ward Councillors (Earls Barton ward).


07791 870235




07799 133301




07702 084518